One of my favorite things about being single? Coffee shops.

(Not that non-singles can’t and don’t enjoy these, too, of course.) But really, there’s nothing like spending a spare Saturday afternoon hour tucked away at a corner table (or, if you’re lucky, in a comfortable armchair) alone with a latte and a good book. In fact, when I find myself faced with some unexpected free time on a weekend, my first thought is, “What coffee shop should I go to?” Sadly, those unexpected free hours are rare, even for me. I imagine they become almost nonexistent once there’s someone else (or multiple someone elses) who have a prior claim on your time and attention.

I’m long overdue to take myself on a little coffee date; I hear St. Elmo’s in Del Ray (a great spot I discovered a couple weeks ago–give it a try if you’ve never been) calling my name. The week days and weekends just roll on by, getting busier and busier. Hopefully I can snatch a free hour or half-hour this coming weekend and take myself off for some quality me time.

Meanwhile it’s back to work. I hope your Monday has been just splendid so far.

2 thoughts on “

  1. I love getting a latte and chilling. Going to Borders and sipping a smooth latte is one of the most relaxing things that I like to do. I have not done it in a long time as I have a hard time justifying spending that much money on a cup of coffee when I have good coffee and a very nice couch at home where my dog can peacefully and contently sleep at my feet….but I use to run to get a latte Borders anytime I need to get away from stress and relax. So, I guess for me it in a good sign in my life that I feel the need less and less to spend hours in a coffee shop. Though now that I am thinking about it I might just treat myself sometime soon to a relaxing morning or evening at Borders with a latte 🙂

  2. This is so true! Hanging out at coffeeshops with time to read, linger, and take it all in is truly one of the delights of being single. By the way, I just happened upon your blog and love it! I look forward to catching up on your older entries.

Leave a Reply

