‘Busy, busy, dreadfully busy…’

Still busy. Still really, really busy. But I find it’s like walking through a bitingly cold winter wind–you appreciate the pockets of stillness and (relative) warmth so much. I may only have fifteen minutes to spend on my sofa with my feet up at the end of the day, but they’re fifteen wonderful minutes.

“Busy” seems to be the key word to describe the life of just about every person I know. I sometimes wonder with just a twinge of guilt if I should slow down a bit. It’s not as if life will get easier when I’m juggling not just my schedule, but a whole family’s. A good friend of mine pointed out recently how important it is to take time just to sit and reflect on the day. But with the demands of a full-time job, parish volunteering, some part-time work on weekends, family, keeping my hand in a few hobbies, staying on top of house work, grocery shopping, and laundry, and of course spending time with friends…where is there time for just sitting still? I don’t even mean praying, which is a different kind of sitting still. I mean just relaxing.

I almost don’t want to relax. I think I worry that it leaves me too much time to feel sorry for myself. And I have a feeling I’m not the only single young adult who feels this way. I take those fifteen minutes on my couch at the end of a busy workday now and then, but I don’t want much more than that. Who knows? Maybe that’s enough for now.

Still. On top of the helter-skelter that is my life at the moment, there have been some wonderful little blessings. One of the biggest? I celebrated a birthday this week, and friends and family have just spoiled me rotten. Thanks so much to everyone for the gifts, notes, emails, phone calls, text messages, and well-wishes…and most especially for your prayers.

And of course, in the midst of the madness, daily mass, as always. As my youngest sister often yells, with the accompanying fist-pump: “Go Jesus!”

One thought on “‘Busy, busy, dreadfully busy…’

  1. I was just telling a friend the story of how I used to feel at the end of the weekend, when I was single. I always had lots planned on the weekend, sports, parties, dates (very ocassionally), and trips. But at the end of the weekend, I did usually have a few hours by myself to reflect. I dreaded those hours. I felt very much alone, maybe not too lonely, but very alone. I lived in a place all to myself for the first time in my life last year (I always had roommates or family) and it was quiet, still, and boring sometimes.

    I’m not sure why God gave us this very human weakness to always want what we don’t have. It frustrates me that it’s the way I feel. It’s a challenge to each individual, and usually not the most difficult challenge you face, to accept and actually be comitted to the state of life you are in right now. What can I work on now, what can I contribute to my neighbor, what can I give to God? The answers to these questions led me closer to heaven and closer to the man God wants me to be.

Leave a Reply

