“I’ve invented a light that plugs into the sun.”

I’ve done it!

(No, I haven’t actually invented such a light bulb. I can’t find a cord long enough.)

But for perhaps the first time in my life, when confronted with one of those tense, personal questions, I gave the “real” answer. I didn’t pussyfoot, I didn’t apologize, I didn’t try to soften the blow, I just told it like it was and let things fall as they must.

I’m still pretty shaken from the experience, but it’s a good sort of shaken. Similar to the way you feel at the end of a rollercoaster ride. Scared and jostled and relieved all at once.

Whew.

I have to admit, though, I’d be so glad if this were the sort of thing one had to do only once in a lifetime…

4 thoughts on ““I’ve invented a light that plugs into the sun.”

  1. Good for you! Those times are always hard, but I always feel better when I am truly honest (even if people do not like the answer).

  2. Can you give a couple of examples of “tense personal questions?” I’m not sure I’ve every experienced such a moment; except possibly when someone asked me (as a teenager), “Are you gay?”

    That was just uncomfortable and weird that someone would ask that…

    • That IS weird that anyone would ask that. Yikes.

      For the protection of the innocent I can’t really go into the concrete situation here. But to give some examples (these scenarios are not the situation I’m referring to, but they have arisen in my life at various points, and I have come to realize in hindsight I did not respond to any of them as openly and honestly as I should have):
      1) When your roommate asks you if you’re angry with her, and you are, but you answer, “Um, no, it’s cool,” because you don’t want to hurt her feelings. (Life lesson learned: you just pave the way for a whole lot more hurt later when you can’t bottle it all up anymore.)
      2) When a friend of the opposite sex finally calls you on your obvious disinterest in being “really good friends” (because, frankly, you’re not interested in being really good friends…or anything more than friendly acquaintances), and instead of admitting the uncomfortable truth that you’re happy with the friendship right where it is, you hem and haw and then agree to hang out more…all under the happy assumption that as long as nothing romantic ever comes up between you in an overt way, you’re safe. (See final note to #1.)
      3) When you’ve had it up to your eyeballs with the incompetence of people working under you (*cough* a few interns I could name *cough*), but instead of telling them so, you let the incompetence continue, staying late to fix problems they’ve caused with their “work” and getting madder by the day.

      I could go on, but I think I’ll stop. I hope this gives you a good idea of what I mean, though?

  3. Yup! I took a page out of your book today and told somebody on the phone that I was basically dissatisfied with their customer service. I usually don’t like to complain or to “rock the boat” — but this is a business I like and with which I would like to do more business, if they can get their act together.

Leave a Reply

