Stop and smell the roses

My bus got to the stop about half a block before I did this morning. But the driver must have seen me sprinting up the street behind him, because he waited for me–even gave me a smile for my pains as I clambered aboard all out of breath, and I was so grateful.

Two musicians–a guitarist and a violinist–were playing Pachabel’s Canon outside a less-trafficked entrance to the China Town metro. It was beautiful. I couldn’t stop smiling for the rest of my walk to the office.

It’s the little things that make up a day.

As my old spiritual director used to say to me all the time, “Love is in the details.” 

God has such exquisite taste.

2 thoughts on “Stop and smell the roses

  1. I miss hearing the street musicians in DC! It is striking — the beauty of the music, amidst the bustling and often stark city streets. It always brought a smile to my face too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

