Milwaukee (for once: pictures!)

I went on a road trip this past weekend to the Midwest. For a Navy brat, this was quite the adventure–I’ve never been so landlocked in my life. The sky out there is so big! I marveled at the beauty and majesty, of course, but I also struggled with feeling rather exposed.

A few of us girls drove out to Wisconsin for a wedding. This is, officially, the farthest I have ever traveled for a wedding (as a rule I don’t go anywhere I can’t make it to and from in one day), and it was totally worth it. Congratulations to the happy couple! And many prayers.

To protect the innocent, I won’ t be posting pictures of people. However, I got some fun shots of various spots in Milwaukee (the end point of our travels), which I thought I’d share. I have no idea what any of these buildings are. Ever the shallow little girl, I took pictures of them merely because “I thought they were pretty.”

Gotta have a picture of a city bus, or it just doesn’t count. And remember what I said about the sky? Even downtown!

This was outside an Italian deli where we stopped for lunch after the wedding. They gave us a long afternoon for sight-seeing before the reception.

Clearly, I’m going in no particular order. This was taken the night before the wedding, on the way to the rehearsal dinner.

A particular favorite of mine. The bride gave us wrist corsages, and some of us were better than others about keeping them on. I won’t name any names, of course. (I think this one’s mine, actually.)

Lady bugs! Need I say more?

 

This one washed out a bit at the top, but I just loved the colors. Hurrah for industrialism.

And…that’s all for now. I almost never take pictures, thus the typical lack of visuals on this blog. So enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Milwaukee (for once: pictures!)

  1. Glad you guys had so much fun! One of my favorite things about roadtrips is seeing the changing scenery and countryside as you drive. I’m always amazed at the vast beauty and diversity of our country each time I get in a car and decide to travel the “long way” to places. It may not always be the fastest way to get where you are going, but each trip has been rewarded by a magnificent show of God’s beauty. The big sky that you describe is a Midwest trademark, and gets even more pronounced as you drive further west into the Dakotas.

    To fill in the blanks a little for you, the building peak in the center of the first picture, that looks like a cathedral tower, is Milwaukee’s City Hall. The pink-ish building on the right is the 100 N Water St building – it overlooks “Red Arrow Park,” which has an outdoor ice skating rink that’s open all winter and is free if you have your own skates. It’s a fun activity if you are ever (God-forbid) in Milwaukee in the dead of winter. Us Wisconsinites must learn how to enjoy winter, since it’s with us for so many months! 🙂

Leave a Reply

