Kickin’ it

I know we’re all trying not to face it, but here’s the reality: summer is almost over.

And with the new school year staring us all in the face–yes, even those of us no longer tied quite so tight to the ins and outs of school and school vacations–it’s also time to straighten up and get back into those good habits we let slide (just a little) during vacation time.

I’m always amazed at the number of bad habits I manage to pick up between Memorial Day and Labor Day. For instance, my official wake-up time is 6:00 a.m. on weekday mornings. Want to know the last time I actually got up at 6:00 a.m.? Short answer: I can’t remember. (This problem is of course exacerbated by my seeming inability to get to bed before midnight.) Other bad habits? Well, this past Friday was the first day I’ve spent literally all by myself in months. I forget how crucial those alone days are to my overall wellbeing. I really need to make the time to hang out with myself a bit more often than I do. I get nervous about the idea of being all alone and so fill up my time with people, events, more people, more events, until I can’t settle down. (An overcrowded imagination is a very noisy thing.) Then of course there’s the problem of watching far too many movies (most of them a huge waste of time) and reading far too few books. I’ve started at least a dozen books, but I’ve only finished…maybe two over the course of the summer. Outside work, that is.

All that said, with the slow drop in temperatures and the shortening days, I find myself reinvigorated. Time to take on the school year with energy. Time to kick some bad habits.

Here goes nothing.

One thought on “Kickin’ it

  1. It’s nice to have a break, and yes, I agree, it’ll be nice to get back into a regiment :). Thanks for sharing! Also, Pope Benedict XVI just wrote on silence…

    “Silence is the environmental condition that most favors contemplation, listening to God and meditation. The very fact of experiencing silence, of allowing ourselves to be “filled,” so to speak, with silence, disposes us to prayer. The great prophet Elijah, on Mount Horeb — that is, Sinai — witnessed a great and strong wind, then an earthquake, and finally flashes of fire, but in none of these did he recognize the voice of God; instead, he recognized it in a still small breeze (cf. 1 Kings 19:11-13). God speaks in the silence, but we need to know how to listen for Him.”

    “On Monastic Silence,”
    Pope BXVI
    August 13, 2011
    from zenit.org

Leave a Reply

