Morning Routine

Ever have those days where you feel just a little off-balance? Like the universe is on a level and you’re standing at a slight angle and things look…funny? I’m having one of those days.

It’s not a bad day, by any means. Just a strange one.

And I think I’ve figured out what caused it today: I didn’t follow my morning routine. In fact, I flat-out broke it, step by step, right down to what I ate for breakfast. First of all, I gave myself a break and woke up an hour later than usual this morning. It was a busy weekend, involving two early mornings, and I decided I needed the sleep. On top of that, I drove in to work, instead of taking the usual metro ride. (I am still not convinced it was the best idea. In fact, it wasn’t really my idea at all. I walked out the door still debating between taking the bus or walking two miles to the metro, and next thing I knew I was in the driver’s seat of my car. At that point it seemed silly to fight it. As I sat in traffic over the 14th Street Bridge and then paid for parking in D.C., though, I admit I was kind of kicking myself.) Even my lunch hour was thrown off. I’ve made plans to attend mass tonight with some friends, so I skipped out on the usual noon mass, and since I really wanted salad but didn’t want to pay $7.50 for it, I walked fifteen minutes to the grocery store and bought bagged salad to last me the rest of the week.

None of these are bad things, by any means. But it’s funny how the morning routine really lays out the blueprint for the day. It functions like a roadmap for all the later steps, and when you don’t have it, the later steps are just going to be a bit shakier. And so I keep losing my bearings on the day, having these periodic panicked “Where the heck am I?” moments.

All that is to say: Enough of this adventuring for me. Tomorrow, it’s back to the usual routine.

Leave a Reply

