So I’m a morning person. Okay?

I love mornings.

I know, I know, roll your eyes and groan: the morning person is crowing, but I just can’t help it. I love waking up and hearing the birds sing (even in winter when it’s dark out, you get a few brave birds who start chirping a little before dawn); I love picking out my clothes for the day, putting on make-up, attempting to do something with my hair… I love the first trip downstairs, the first glass of water, and throwing my lunch together. But my favorite part of the morning is that first moment when I step outside and pull the door closed behind me. Maybe we each have one moment in every day when we absolutely, positively can take on the world. That moment on the front steps, breathing in the outside air for the first time on this particular day: that’s my moment.

And then of course there’s the cup of coffee I always enjoy when I first reach the office. I love sitting down at my desk and firing up the computer, reading through emails and tapping out responses while I sip my coffee and listen to my coworkers trickle in, calling “Good morning” to the receptionist as they pass by the front desk.

Thank goodness for mornings. And happy Thursday!

 

 

 

(Sts. Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael, archangels, pray for us.)

2 thoughts on “So I’m a morning person. Okay?

  1. This post made me smile on a Tuesday morning. This time of year, I find it hard to adjust to waking up when it is pitch black outside (6-6:30am). I just tumble into the shower and try to keep my eyes open.
    I guess I’m not a morning person.

Leave a Reply

