Martha, Martha

We continue our mad race to Christmas; my heart rate is up, as are my coffee and sugar consumption, and sleep is way, way down. So is prayer–at least real prayer, the kind that involves stillness and silence. As I rush from one thing to the next (work, shopping, wrapping, cooking, more work, sleep, laundry, travel plans, youth group logistics, work, a little more sleep, house cleaning, more shopping…and there’s still more laundry, more wrapping, and more cooking to be done), these words keep playing in the back of my mind, and I wanted to share them here.

“You are anxious and worried about many things. There is need of only one thing.”

Granted, the “anxieties” of this season are all joyful ones: Christmas shopping (even if I am a little low on funds at the moment), tree decorating, house cleaning, all in preparation for the Feast. Still, I get butterflies in my stomach and catch myself fidgeting on long car rides and groaning when I get stuck at a red light. There’s so much to do! Then I lose sight of the reason for all the details and the details become everything, and then Christmas loses its focus. Thank goodness for my good angel, who whispers those words in my ear when I most need to hear them. Stop, breathe, refocus.

After all, under all the details, Christmas is all about only one thing.

Leave a Reply

