Aaaaand We’re Rolling!

If you were a screen writer writing the story of your life, what kind of story would it be? Would it be a chick flick? Action? Drama? Sci-fi?

I always used to picture my life playing out like a chick flick. Boy meets girl, boy and girl fall in love, there’s a calamity or conflict of some sort, they break up, they make up, they get back together, they kiss, and the movie ends happily. Keep the tissues handy, because there would be happy parts, funny parts, sad parts, tears of sadness, tears of joy, and tears from laughter. But it would be MY story, and that would be the best part about it.

 

Image

The Ultimate Chick Flick.

 

But no. No, my life is actually more like a soap opera. I grew up in a home much like that of Cheaper By The Dozen, filled with goofy shenanigans, yelling matches, wrestling matches, ill-timed piano practicing, lots of fun, lots of noise, but most of all lots of love. I gallivanted around Washington State for a year after high school because I “wasn’t ready for college.” After Washington, I went off to nursing school where I studied and stressed my way to graduation, got a job in medical-surgical/telemetry nursing and quickly became “Super-Nurse.” Less than two years later, I lost said job, and moved halfway across the country to Texas to start a new job as a pediatric home health nurse. Of course all this went on with the usual smattering of friend, family, boy, and circumstantial drama. And that brings us to the present.

 

Image

This pretty much sums it up! I think I’ve said that very thing more than once….

I always used to try to plan my entire life out ahead of me. But if there’s one thing I’ve learned about life, it’s that God laughs at your plans. In my chick flick, I was going to be an actress or a singer or an opera singer. Forget that I can’t act to save my life, I was going to make it work. I was going to be the next Renee Fleming. But I most definitely was NEVER going to be a nurse. Too much blood and guts involved. Nope, wasn’t gonna do it. But now I wouldn’t change my career for anything. I LOVE nursing, and I can’t imagine doing anything else!

I also said I was going to be married by age 24. No joke, if you’d asked 14-year old me, I would have said I’d find someone in college and marry shortly after and start having more than 8 but less than 16 kids (What was I thinking?? I work with kids now. I will accept as many as God gives me, but I pray it’s not that many!). Can we say MRS. Degree?? But here I am at 26, and single as Larry the Cucumber’s tooth. So far I’m batting a big fat zero on my plans. God: 1M. Me: 0.

I also never, ever thought I’d live in Texas. In fact I think I used to say that I never had any desire to live in Texas. But yet here I am. Crazy how God works, right? If there’s one thing I’ve learned about life, it’s that stress isn’t worth it and that sometimes you just have to “go with it,” and tell yourself you’ll laugh about it later. And if you can’t laugh at yourself, you’re taking yourself too seriously.

But the hardest things to experience are what teach us the most lessons, give us the most appreciation for the blessings we overlooked, and often lead to the best memories.

I’m going to leave you on that note, but first let me just say how excited I am to be joining this blog! I have enjoyed maintaining my own blog, but a co-blogging enterprise will be so much better! I have been a faithful follower of Lifeinthegap, partially because it’s written by my sister, but mostly because it’s purely awesome. So I’m very happy to be joining her here and I can’t wait to see what happens!

 

Peace out, y’all!

 

–“Virginia”

(In order to distinguish me from a coworker with the same name, I am known as “Virginia” at work. So when coming up with a name to sign my posts with that one made the most sense, as I didn’t really want to use “Steamroller,” which is another story that I might go into at another time.)

Image

“That day, she was amazed to discover that when he was saying ‘As you wish’, what he meant was, ‘I love you.’ And even more amazing was the day she realized she truly loved him back.” (“The Princess Bride”)

 

2 thoughts on “Aaaaand We’re Rolling!

  1. Welcome ‘Virginia,’ you much have some excellent writing genes in your family. I love following your sister’s (now both of yours) blog. It amazes me that the original blogger, your sister, can be so open and trusting in her writing! She’s a spectacular person and though I know you both wouldn’t mind getting married, to say the least, don’t rush it. That time ‘in the gap’ is rewarding and is a time when God really tests your trust in Him. Just offer us the suffering during your single time for extra graces when life really gets tough, when you’re married with kids! (and exhausted, sick, but madly in love with your spouse, child(ren), and God)

Leave a Reply

